Lent 2019

DRIVEN: Thriving in the Wilderness

Maybe you are a driven person – maybe you feel the pressures of work or society to be driven in a certain direction – maybe you are simply driven to distraction! Jesus was also driven, at the very start of his ministry, in a counter-cultural direction: out into the wilderness. This Lent we follow Jesus into the wilderness, learning to thrive in the chaos, barrenness, and distraction of our age.

Our companions along the way this Lent will be the Desert Mystics – men and women who went into the desert to learn the abundance of God’s grace. We begin with the words of Abba Anthony: “Don’t put your trust in your own righteousness, don’t fixate on the past, and watch over your tongue and belly.”

 

March 6-9 Readings:

Ash Wednesday: Joel 2:1-2, 12-17 and Psalm 51
Thursday: Luke 18:18-22
Friday: Joshua 1:19
Saturday: Luke 6:45

 

First Week of Lent

When Abba Anthony was asked, ‘What rule should I keep in order to please God?” the abba replied, “Follow this rule which I give you. Wherever you go, keep God continually before your eyes. Follow Holy Scripture in everything you do. Wherever you happen to be, don’t try to move on too quickly.” Lent is a marathon – not a sprint! Our practice this week is to move slowly in our daily Bible readings. Try reading each one out loud, paying attention to which of these passages seems to connect to you in heart or mind or spirit. Then try re-reading that passage 2-3 times, praying after each reading.

Readings this Week
Monday, March 11: Psalm 17; 1 Chronicles 21:1-17; 1 John 2:1-6
Tuesday, March 12: Psalm 17; Zechariah 3:1-10; 2 Peter 2:4-21
Wednesday, March 13: Psalm 17; Job 1:1-22; Luke 21:34-22:6
Thursday, March 14: Psalm 27; Genesis 13:1-7, 14-18; Philippians 3:2-12
Friday, March 15: Psalm 27; Genesis 14:17-24; Philippians 3:17-20
Saturday, March 16: Psalm 27; Psalm 118:26-29; Matthew 23:37-39

 

Second Week of Lent

Abba Arsenius said, “If we seek God, he will appear to us. If we grasp him, he will stay with us.”

As you continue to repent – remember – resist – rest in your Lenten practice from week one, here are daily readings to bring you into Jesus’ presence. This week, try ending each of your times in prayerful reading with the question, “what one practical way is Jesus calling me to obey today?”

Readings this Week
Monday, March 18: Psalm 105:1-42; Exodus 33:1-6; Romans 4:1-12
Tuesday, March 19: Psalm 105:1-42; Numbers 14:10b-24; 1 Corinthians 10:1-13
Wednesday, March 20: Psalm 105:1-42; 2 Chronicles 20:1-22; Luke 13:22-31
Thursday, March 21: Psalm 63:1-8; Daniel 3:19-30; Revelation 2:8-11
Friday, March 22: Psalm 63:1-8; Daniel 12:1-4; Revelation 3:1-6
Saturday, March 23: Psalm 63:1-8; Isaiah 5:1-7; Luke 6:43-45

Third Week of Lent

An abba was asked to define humility and said, “It’s forgiving your brother from your heart, even before he has apologized.” Repent – remember – resist – rest. As you focus on your Lenten practice this week, the following readings detail God’s provision for his people and the response he desires. As you read, reflect on his goodness in your life and consider what your response has been….and could be.

Readings this Week
Monday, March 25: Psalm 39; Jeremiah 11:1-17; Romans 2:1-11
Tuesday, March 26: Psalm 39; Ezekiel 17:1-10; Romans 2:12-16
Wednesday, March 27: Psalm 39; Numbers 13:17-27; Luke 13:18-21
Thursday, March 28: Psalm 32; Joshua 4:1-13; 2 Corinthians 4:16-5:5
Friday, March 29: Psalm 32; Joshua 4:14-24; 2 Corinthians 5:6-15
Saturday, March 30: Psalm 32; Exodus 32:7-14; Luke 15:1-10

Comments are closed